Quarterly Sex Offender Verification Period Begins
The Michigan State Police (MSP) is reminding registered Tier 3 sex offenders that the 15-day address verification begins October 1st. During this period, state law requires all Tier 3 registered offenders to report in person to their local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s office or nearest MSP post to verify their address.
The Michigan Sex Offender Registration Act requires Tier 1 offenders to verify their addresses annually, during the first 15 days of January. Tier 2 offenders must verify their addresses semi-annually during the first 15 days of January and July. Tier 3 offenders must verify quarterly. Failure to do so by any level of offender carries a penalty of up to two years in prison.
All registered offenders must also report a change of name, address, employment, campus enrollment, internet identifiers, and vehicle information within three business days of any change. Failure to do so is a four-year felony.
The Sex Offender Registration Act allows for the arrest of an offender who is not in compliance with the Act’s reporting requirements. Violators may be arrested during a traffic stop or any other contact with law enforcement. Additionally, law enforcement agencies conduct random address checks to verify compliance.