Contact Us

President to Give 10 States a Pass on No Child Left Behind Deadline

Mark Wilson, Getty Images

President Obama is going to give 10 states a pass on an approaching deadline for the No Child Left Behind law. According to Fox News, the states have struggled to meet the proficiency standards for both reading and math.

The executive action taken by the president will circumvent Congress, which has been stuck trying to figure out how to rewrite the law. A White House Official confirmed the report that the 10 states will receive “flexibility” which will allow them to miss the 2014 targets for student proficiency. Those states will be required to set new targets however, and must implement plans to reward high-performing schools and punish the low-performing.

The first ten states to receive the waivers are Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee. New Mexico applied for flexibility and did not get it. They are however working with the administration to get it.

Meanwhile 28 other states, and the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, have expressed their intent to receive flexibility also.

No Child Left Behind requires all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014. The president has been critical of the law, which was passed under the George W. Bush administration.

Best of WFNT

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for WFNT Treasure Trove quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive WFNT Treasure Trove contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.