Michigan's minimum wage is set to increase on Monday for the first time in six years. Following recent legislation by the Michigan Legislature and later signed by Governor Rick Snyder, the state's minimum wage will increase from the current $7.40 per hour to $8.15 per hour on September 1. Under the new law, Michigan's minimum wage will be gradually increased to $9.25 per hour in 2018.