The newly elected Flint City Council was sworn in during a ceremony on Monday afternoon.

Four new members - Eric Mays, Wantwaz Davis, Monica Galloway and Vicki Van Buren - took their first oath of office. According to MLive, Galloway is believed to be the first black women elected in the Seventh Ward and Van Buren is believed to be the first Hispanic woman elected to city council.

Clerk Inez Brown believes its the first time in city history that there are only two white council members, Scott Kincaid and Joshua Freeman.

The new city council will have little power however since Flint is still under the control of an emergency manager, Darnell Earley. He reiterated on Monday that the city is not ready to be turned back over to elected officials until he believes the city can be financially stable for the long term.