Contact Us

Andrew Luck, LSU Defense Big Winners at College Football Awards Ceremony

Andrew Luck and Tyrann Mathieu might not win the Heisman, but they won't be going home empty-handed.
Ezra Shaw/Kevin C. Cox, Getty Images

While the big trophy will be given away Saturday night, Heisman finalists Andrew Luck, Robert Griffin III, Tyrann Mathieu and Trent Richardson won’t be leaving New York empty-handed. Each player won at least one of the other prestigious college football awards that were announced Thursday night.

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, the preseason Heisman favorite, won the Maxwell Award as college football’s player of the year. He also left with the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which goes to the nation’s top senior quarterback. However, Baylor signal caller Robert Griffin III walked away with the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Alabama running back Trent Richardson beat out fellow Heisman finalist Montee Ball of Wisconsin for the Doak Walker Award, which goes to the nation’s top running back. And not to be left out, LSU defensive back and punt returner Tyrann Mathieu won the Bednarik Award as the defensive player of the year.

Top-ranked LSU’s defense was also well represented. In addition to Mathieu’s Bednarik Award, the Tigers walked away with the Jim Thorpe Award (outstanding defensive back to Morris Claiborne) and the Broyles Award (top assistant coach to defensive coordinator John Chavis). Head coach Les Miles also picked up the Home Depot Coach of the Year trophy.

Oklahoma State’s Justin Blackmon joined former Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree as the only two-time winners of the Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the nation’s top wide receiver.

Below is a list of all of this year’s award winners.

Maxwell Award (Outstanding Player): Andrew Luck, Stanford

Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year): Andrew Luck, Stanford

Doak Walker Award (Outstanding Running Back): Trent Richardson, Alabama

Davey O’Brien Award (Outstanding Quarterback): Robert Griffin III, Baylor

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Outstanding Senior Quarterback): Andrew Luck, Stanford

Fred Biletnikoff Award (Outstanding Wide Receiver): Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

John Mackey Award (Outstanding Tight End): Dwayne Allen, Clemson

Outland Trophy (Outstanding Interior Lineman): Barrett Jones, Alabama

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award (Outstanding Lineman): Luke Kuechly, Boston College

Rimington Trophy (Outstanding Center): David Molk, Michigan

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year): Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

Bronco Nagurski Award (Defensive Player of the Year): Da’Quan Bowers, Clemson

Ted Hendricks Award (Defensive End of the Year): Whitney Mercilus, Illinois

Dick Butkus Award (Outstanding Linebacker): Luke Kuechly, Boston College

Jim Thorpe Award (Outstanding Defensive Back): Morris Claiborne, LSU

Lou Groza Award (Outstanding Placekicker): Randy Bullock, Texas A&M

Ray Guy Award (Outstanding Punter): Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

Campbell Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Andrew Rodriguez, Army

Home Depot Award (Coach of the Year): Les Miles, LSU

Broyles Award (Top Assistant Coach): John Chavis, LSU


Best of WFNT

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for WFNT Treasure Trove quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive WFNT Treasure Trove contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.